Lincoln Cemetery, Blue Island
About Lincoln Cemetery, Blue Island
In 1911, a group of African American funeral directors approached Raymond Olson, the owner of Chicago’s Oak Hill Cemetery, and proposed that a portion of the undeveloped land that he owned open as an African-American cemetery. Raymond agreed, and Lincoln Cemetery opened. Its first burial took place in April 1911.
In the 100-plus years since Lincoln Cemetery has served thousands of families, some of them well known.
Today, the cemetery comprises approximately 112 acres on 3 corners of 12300 South Kedzie Avenue, each with a unique history and appearance. Old Lincoln is approximately 71 acres on the northwest corner, Lincoln Cemetery South is approximately 23 acres on the southwest corner, and Lincoln Cemetery East is approximately 18 acres on the northeast corner.